Welcome, readers!

Hello, and welcome to “Do These Pants Make My Butt Look Big?”, a blog all about body image and its many impacts on women and our representation in modern media, culture, and society!  I’m so glad that you’ve taken the time to either:

a) find my blog through your own devices,

b) follow the link that I have spammed onto the far reaches of Facebook, or

c) heard the name, laughed a little, and decided to take a peek at what this could possibly be about.

My goal for this blog is, surprisingly, not to incite riots in the street, or inspire something like this. Rather, I want to acknowledge the very real truth behind the concept that the “cultural norm” for women is to have some level of dysfunctional and abnormal body image thinking. It has been a difficult thing to ignore as a teenager and young woman growing up in this modern time, and this type of thinking has had an incredible impact on my life. The purpose of this blog is to illuminate body image for what it is, why it is here, where you might find it, and how it unifies many women in American culture.

I’ll be writing about just about anything that I think is relevant to this blog, including (but not limited to) movies, chick lit, music, images, articles, television media, nonfiction books, social media, and even my own personal experiences living on campus day to day. In the process of finding these topics of conversation, I plan to incorporate some of the more academic resources and thoughts into my writing to give these discussions a little more flavor. And — if I can ever figure out how to do it– I would like to try and leave some questions for you, readers, to think about and give me some enlightening feedback!

Oh, right, and I also want all of us to have a good time while we’re all here, reading and thinking and reading and thinking some more! Who doesn’t want to have fun, right? Maybe a few people out there, but not enough killjoys to stop this shindig!

So, on that note, let’s get this show on the road! Fasten your seatbelts (and bra straps, if that helps, too) and enjoy the ride!

One thought on “Welcome, readers!

Leave a Reply

