Let’s Chase Beauty Together!

This week, I would like to extend two invitations to my readers. One of them is entirely dependent on geography, while the other is an idea that I have for my NEXT post.

First, I would like to invite anyone in the College Park area to the Honors Humanities Undergraduate Research Symposium tomorrow, April 12th. This is the big shindig that is the culmination of the Keystone projects that my peers and I have worked on for the past two years in the program. There are a lot of excellent presentations about topics that span the entirety of the humanities, and you definitely won’t be disappointed if you can make it to any of the panels. And hey, if you’re lucky, you might be able to see me present as well!

The link to the event’s website is here, and you can find the schedule on there as well.

Honors Humanities Undergraduate Research Symposium logo, courtesy of Grace DeWitt

Honors Humanities Undergraduate Research Symposium logo, courtesy of Grace DeWitt

The second invitation is a bit of an interactive adventure with all of you. A friend of mine told me about a great documentary entitled Chasing Beauty, which follows the path of men and women pursuing careers as fashion models. It discusses the stresses and pressures of this lifestyle, and I think that it would be a great thing to watch and think about. It is definitely on Netflix, and I think it may also be found on YouTube.

Chasing Beauty, a documentary

Chasing Beauty, a documentary

What I am kindly asking from you all is to take some time to watch the video yourselves before I post next week about it. I would be really curious to see what everyone thinks about this topic, and also would like us to think about how each and every one of us chases beauty in our own way. How do you define beauty? Has watching the video changed your perspectives of beauty?

Watch it, think on it, and I hope to here your thoughts soon!

Leave a Reply

